Sean Kensington wins 2019 Tauranga Cup

January 16, 2019


The 2019 Tauranga Cup is complete and has been won by Sean Kensington representing Kohimarama Yacht Club.


The scheduled four day regatta was shortened to two days due to a gale force northerly breeze lowing through the harbour for the first two days before Wellington turned on a beautiful light southerly which saw racing held immediately off the Clubhouse.


The first day of racing saw four races completed with Sean Kensington dominating with a 2-1-1-2 scorecard to hold an unassailable lead heading into day two.  Tanner Cup winner Blake Hinsley completed a solid week with a second place overall, despite dropping his rig in the fifth and final race of the regatta.  Third place overall went to David Buchanan from Christchurch who sailed a really consistent regatta to finish with a scorecard of 3-9-3-3-13. 


The female contest for the Naomi James Challenge Trophy was taken out be Stella Bilger (Kohimarama) ahead of Aylwen Berger (Timaru) and Sophie Cooke (Kohimarama).


Full results are available on the results page.


A huge thank you to everyone involved in a great regatta, including the Race Committee and all their volunteers, the parents, coaches and most importantly the sailors themselves.  It was a fantastic regatta to watch, the sailing ability on display was magnificent and the attitude of all the sailors was brilliant.


Photo: Sean Kensington – 2019 Tauranga Cup Winner

Photo Credit: Deb Williams

Please reload

Our Recent Posts

September 25, 2020

September 23, 2020

Please reload


Please reload


Please reload


©2018 by Evans Bay Yacht And Motor Boat Club. Proudly created with